POLICY: REFUGEE WELCOME ZONE

DATE ADOPTED: Director Corporate Services & Finance's Report #1

Policy 5 December 2012 Council 6 February 2013 Minute Book No. 11477

ORIGINAL ADOPTION: Director Corporate Services Report #1

Policy 1 December 2004, Council 8 December 2004

Minute Book No. 9416 (former BCC Policy)

FILE REFERENCE: 23.00057

OBJECTIVE: That Bathurst Regional Council declare the City of Bathurst

a Refugee Welcome Zone.

That Bathurst Regional Council declare the City of Bathurst a Refugee Welcome Zone.

Aspects of a Refugee Welcome Zone are:

welcome refugees into the Bathurst community.

- Upholding the human rights for refugees
- Understanding their experiences
- Acknowledge that refugees can and do balance our cultural and religious diversities.

Bathurst Regional Council to provide a leadership role in the local community to:

- support a tangible and visible policy of welcome, acceptance and hope to people classed as refugees in Australia today;
- be an ongoing partner in a wide community forum in our local government region that discusses the needs and treatment of refugees and asylum seekers in Australia today.
- Endorse and support the development of a community strategy to identify, support and welcome refugees within the Bathurst community

The Bathurst City Council,

Declares the City of Bathurst a

Refugee Welcome Zone

This Declaration is a Commitment in Spirit to

Welcoming refugees into our community,

Upholding the Human Rights of refugees,

Demonstrating Compassion for refugees and

Enhancing cultural and religious Diversity in our community.

Signed: Clr Ian Macintosh, Mayor Bathurst City Council

Date: _____

This Declaration is proudly supported and endorsed by the

Refugee Council of Australia.

The Refugee Council of Australia is a peak national organisation representing over 120 organisations and individual members. The aim of the Refugee Council is to promote the adoption of flexible, humane and constructive policies toward refugees, asylum seekers and displaced persons by the Australian and other Governments and their communities.